Hello strangers, care to join??
Please Login or register to see your Points
DesignLoft V2.0 / Competitions, Events, News
Now viewing a post Under : Architecture|Competitions!
Wheelwright Prize Competition @ DesignLoft V2.0 466

Wheelwright Prize Competition

Location :
Submission Deadline :
Registration Deadline :
Award :
$100,000 traveling fellowship
Jury Members :
Harvard GSD Dean Mohsen Mostafavi, Professors K. Michael Hays, Jorge Silvetti, Assistant Dean Benjamin Prosky.
Type :
Open to all, International, Free Admission
Admission fee :

Harvard GSD Introduces the Wheelwright Prize $100,000 Annual Award Open to Architects Worldwide


Harvard Graduate School of Design announces the launch of the Wheelwright Prize, a $100,000 traveling fellowship awarded annually to talented early-career architects worldwide proposing exceptional itineraries for research and discovery. With an open application process (deadline February 28, 2013), the Wheelwright Prize recognizes the importance of field research to professional development, and reinforces Harvard GSD’s dedication to fostering investigative approaches to contemporary design.
The Wheelwright Prize is unique among architecture prizes with its focus on early-career architects and its sizable purse, $100,000, equivalent to that of the Pritzker Prize, which honors an architect’s lifetime achievements. The Wheelwright Prize is directed at architects who have graduated from a professionally accredited degree program in the past 15 years. (Graduates prior to 1998 are ineligible.)


  • Applicant must have graduated from a professionally accredited architecture degree program in the past 15 years. (Graduates prior to 1998 are ineligible.)
  • Applicants may not have received the Arthur Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship previously.
  • Winners of the Wheelwright Prize may not hold other fellowships concurrently.
  • Winners are expected to spend a minimum of 6 months (cumulative) outside their countries of residence in order to conduct their proposed research. Research and travel must commence within 12 months of receiving the Wheelwright Prize and must be completed within two years of receiving the prize.
  • The Wheelwright Prize is intended for independent study and may not be applied to university fees.


  • January 10, 2013—Online application process opens .
  • February 15, 2013—Registration deadline
  • February 28, 2013—Submissions deadline


  • Harvard GSD Dean Mohsen Mostafavi
  • Professors K. Michael Hays
  • Jorge Silvetti
  • Assistant Dean Benjamin Prosky


  • $100,000 traveling fellowship

For more information click here

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.