Hello strangers, care to join??
Please Login or register to see your Points
DesignLoft V2.0 / Competitions, Events, News
Now viewing a post Under : Architecture|Competitions!
Grand Acres Community Garden @ DesignLoft V2.0 401

Grand Acres Community Garden

Location :
Submission Deadline :
Registration Deadline :
Award :
Jury Members :
Shavaun Towers, Dean Sakamoto, Chris Randall, Ben Gardner
Type :
Open to all, International, Student Competition
Admission fee :

The New Haven Land Trust (NHLT) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to land conservation, environmental education and community gardening in New Haven. The Land Trust manages the Community Garden Program, which provides land, technical assistance and supplies to almost 50 community gardens.


The aims of this competition is to create an identity for Grand Acres, a community garden in the Fair Haven neighborhood of New Haven. Grand Acres is one of the community gardens owned and managed by the New Haven Land Trust (NHLT). The goal of this design competition is to create an identity and a sense of unity and permanence for Grand Acres that could also serve as a model for other community gardens around the city.


The challenge of this competition is to design an element or a series of elements that can be constructed with volunteer labor to give the garden a sense of permanence.
Elements that may be considered include, but are not limited to:

  • Seating
  • Signage
  • Rain water collection systems
  • Tool sheds
  • Fencing
  • Planters
  • Walkways
  • Patios

There is a budget of $750 for materials. All labor will be volunteers, so designs should be straightforward and simple to construct.


The competition is open to all. There are no restrictions on team size or number of entries per team, although each entry will require a separate registration and entry fee.


  • Mar 18th, 2010—Registration opens. Question period opens.
  • Apr 2nd, 2010—Question period closed.
  • Apr 9nd, 2010—Answers posted.
  • May 3rd, 2010—Registration closes.
  • May 10th, 2010—Submission Due.
  • May 24th, 2010—Winners announced.


  • Shavaun Towers
  • Dean Sakamoto
  • Chris Randall
  • Ben Gardner

Registration fees:$15 per entry

For more information click here

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.