Hello strangers, care to join??
Please Login or register to see your Points
DesignLoft V2.0 / Competitions, Events, News
Now viewing a post Under : Architecture|Competitions!
Zerofootprint Building Re-Skinning Competition @ DesignLoft V2.0 957

Zerofootprint Building Re-Skinning Competition

Location :
Submission Deadline :
Registration Deadline :
Award :
See body of post
Jury Members :
Thomas Auer, Andrew Bowerbank, George Baird,and more
Type :
Open to all, International, Free Admission
Admission fee :

Zerofootprint is an organization dedicated to a mass reduction in global environmental impact.In order to promote innovation and advance the state-of-the-art in retrofitting the built space, Zerofootprint has recently launched an architectural competition at the Discovery 2009 Exhibition in Toronto on May 12th, 2009.


The competition welcomes teams from all over the world and will be accepting submissions until September 1, 2009. After reviewing all entries submitted, a panel of judges drawn from the architectural, academic and financial community will select the five finalists.A key requirement of entries to this competition is that the building designs submitted must be pre-funded: that is, the designs submitted will actually be executed upon the chosen buildings.


  • May 12, 2009—Competition launches at the Ontario Centres for Excellence’s Discovery ’09 Event
  • Sep 01, 2009—Deadline for submission of designs
  • Sep 30, 2009—Judging completed; five finalists selected
  • Mar 31, 2011—Finalist project construction completed; energy monitoring and reporting begins
  • Mar 31, 2014—Energy monitoring completed; Z-Prize winner announced.


  • Aesthetics
  • energy efficiency
  • smart technology
  • return on investment
  • potential as a solution for a large number of buildings


  • Thomas Auer
  • Andrew Bowerbank
  • George Baird
  • Judith DiMaio
  • Stefan Benisch
  • Edward Mazria
  • William McDonough
  • Robin Mellon


The winning five entries will be monitored for a period of three years after the completion of the retrofit to examine and compare how they actually perform in practice. The Z-Prize will be given to the building that has most reduced the energy per square foot, averaged over the three years of monitoring.

Download competition brief PDF 
For more information click here 

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.